I am really not Singaporean!

Publié le par charloroco

Is it normal that many people, 30-35 years old, still live with their parents in Singapore? Well, it's great to save for their home and wedding. But how can they become adults if they never leave home? That's why I admire those Singaporeans who go study overseas.

I  also knew a local girl who didn't know tht Paris was the capital of France...I didn't say anything but I couldn't help thinking : "What a lack of culture!". She should see that the world is immense...

Another person told me I spoke French better than English! Well I am French, bastard, so French is my mother tongue!!!!!

Well that's enough!

Publié dans English texts

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
L
I believe many of us are still practicing the confucius way of thinking i.e. We are taken care of by our parents when we are young, and in turn, we are responsible to take care of our old aged parents, when we became adults, and have the ability to earn our own money. It is a good thing, as it builds up a balanced relationship. In a way, you will always feel this connection to your parents somehow. Although in the wild, many animals will kind of get "fed-up" with their young after a certain age, and will abandon them to make them find their own way to survive. I guess, as human, we are different from the animals in terms of intellectual abilities. We as human, have established something call culture, and with that, brings about education and community support. I see this, what you called, an "Asian practice", as a kind of community support. It's much like the elephants, how they live in herds, and how they would help each other out when in need. It's a different way of survival, and that have come about differently, because of our different historical background and believes.
Répondre
P
Well, if that person doesnt knw thats the capital, perhaps she didnt study geo? hehe.... i guess living with parents is not a bad thing after all, yea its great living alone especially when i was in germany alone and i wish to do that again too as i can have my own freedom etc... but now for me, i have my own hands to earn money, so just wana stay with my parents and in return supporting them till they get old. you get what i mean? We must remember where our roots are.
Répondre
C
I know what you mean! But it is not our way of thinking! When we are more than 25, our parents are fed up with children and they want us to earn our own money. They dun need us to take care of them! This is just another culture, Phoebe! That's why I am not Asian!